Team America: I got your back

Thai massage masters.

Thai massage masters.

Cheers to us!

Cheers to us!

6:15 am is an early time to be headed for the final two dives and testing to complete our PADI certification. But all four members of ‘Team America’ (so dubbed by our Italian/Dutch instructor) arrived on time and eager for the final dives: Sheala and I, along with Christian (a friend of Shea’s, met on the residency interview trail last fall) and David, the chef from San Fran.

It was the first time I was thankful for the oppressive heat of the past month;  even that early in the morning, riding on a boat and pulling on a damp wetsuit, I was still warm. Two more tests, one planned toward the end of each dive, and we were done.

Favorite 'go to' cheap meal on island.

Favorite ‘go to’ cheap meal on island.

Team America!

Team America!

Fourth, and final entry, entry for certification.

Fourth, and final entry, entry for certification.

Celebration dinner, with a view.

Celebration dinner, with a view.

The first dive, located at Southwest Pinnacle, was later voted by Team America as the most beautiful dive of the day. Our instructor, Ee, was amazed at the clarity of the water as we dove up, down and between various underwater pinnacles. Not only did we see beautiful creatures moving about, the formations on the rocks were as intriguing. My comfort level with maintaining the regulator in my mouth, adjusting my buoyancy, and clearing my mask while diving, was increasing. Playing with my buoyancy by inhaling, exhaling and adjusting the amount of air in my vest, was also very entertaining. Now, I could turn my head about 60 degrees in either direction without fear of  loosening my mask. And we achieved 18meters in depth!

As we ascended for a safety stop, we each had to individually fully remove, pause, and replace our mask. The others proceeded with no problems, and I was actually quite comfortable with the challenge. Ee grabbed the rope and my weight belt so that both of my hands were free to break the seal on the top of my mask, wait for it (eyes closed this time) to fill with water, and then pull it over my head. As I pulled it over my head, I could hear and feel the strap separate from the side of the mask. Reminding myself to not breath through my nose, I had the presence of mind to continue with the skill, sans strap, press the mask to my face and clear it so I could once again see. Ee was aware of the malfunction amd I thought perhaps she would restrap the mask, instead the two of us slowly (calmly) continued the final 15 meters to the top. All was good.

A light breakfast awaited us on the boat which we devoured as we moved to our final dive location. Although the clarity was not nearly as good, we enjoyed the 40 minute dive and our final test, buoyancy at a sustained level, was easily achieved by all. It was done, Team America had all passed!

A bit tired from our early morning, we passed the next few hours devouring our favorite local $1.50 chicken sandwich, and after letting our tummies digest a bit, headed to our first Thai massage. For $9 an hour, the massage therapist will massage your muscles while simultaneously contorting your limbs in various directions to maximize the stretch. The tables used are low to the ground which allows the woman to easily CLIMB on top of you to achieve these twists and bends. For example, while laying on my stomach, she climbed on my back, digging each knee into a different rump cheek while working my shoulders with her hands. Sounds strange by American standards, but it is amazing!

Team America headed to a local restaurant, recommended by Ee, that sits atop a hill with an awesome view of the island below. Fried snapper finished the day, along with admiring the evening sky while resting on a blanket, on our resort’s beach. In bed by 10:30 to be ready for the next day: investigating beaches on the island.

Here we go!

This entry was posted in Thailand. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Team America: I got your back

  1. Ana King says:

    When are you coming home???

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a comment